Skip to main content
Bates College Research Guides Library Home

EndNote: Output Styles, Filters and Templates

What are EndNote Output Styles, Filters and Templates?

Output Styles are specific citation output styles used by journals and style guides (e.g. Chicago Manual of Style, Modern Language Association, American Psychological Association and Council of Scientific Editors).  EndNote provides more than 5.000 bibliographic output styles.

Filters are used to assure bibliographic info like author name, book title and publication year are correctly imported.  Not all filters are initially installed and so must be downloaded and activated before they can be used.

For many Bates Library databases, bibliographic information is easily exported to an EndNote-friendly form by selecting the EndNote, Reference Manager, or ProCite option.  However, this option is not available for all library databases and the information must be imported to your EndNote library through a database-specific filter.  Examples of reference imports requiring a database-specific filter are CBBcat, WorldCat (OCLC) and SciFinder (CAS).

Templates are Microsoft Word .dot files that can be used as a starting place for writing requiring a specific style (e.g. APA 5th, APA 6th, MLA, Chicago 15th and Science Magazine).  Template files contain formatting elements like page layout, section headings, and running titles.  EndNote provides hundreds of template files for Microsoft Word. 

Output Styles, Filters and Templates

The following styles are frequently requested for assignments at Bates, but are not automatically installed when you download the program. Clicking on the links below will download the styles to your computer.

To make any of these styles available to EndNote, you must:

  1. Download the file to your computer.
  2. Move the file the the "Styles" folder of your Endnote application.

Two generic import filters are EndNote Import and Reference Manager (RIS).

Database Import Filter
CBBcat or MaineCat INNOPAC (or EndNote Import if not available)
WorldCat WorldCat (OCLC)
SciFinder SciFinder (CAS)
PubMed PubMed (NLM)
Annual Reviews EndNote Import

Many Output Style, Filter and Template files are provided upon initial EndNote Desktop installation.  Additional filters provided by EndNote can be downloaded from the following webpages:

Loading