Particularly useful for the design and construction elements of architecture.
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
Searches can be limited by different types and periods of architecture. Excellent for religious architecture and fortifications.
The International Medieval Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings in this this interdisciplinary field. Areas covered include classics, English language and literature, history and archaeology, theology and philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, history of education, art history, music, theatre and performance arts, rhetoric and communication studies. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database also allows users to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957.
The best resource for American vernacular architecture.
America: History and Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to key English-language historical journals, the coverage includes selected journals from major countries, state, and local history journals, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, the database includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations.