Combined AFI Catalog and Film Index International. Although there is no full-text, the list of reviews is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International and AFI Catalog together in one site. Film Index International provides in-depth indexing of over 120,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. It includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. AFI Catalog, compiled by specialist researchers at the American Film Institute, is the premier resource for American films providing a detailed view of American feature films produced during the last century.
Art Abstracts indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
These annotated bibliographies gather key resources on a wide range of topics in film and television studies. Featuring more than 110 different subtopics in cinema/media research, the bibliographies try to gather the best research on a topic and explain why a particular article or book might be more useful for your research better than another. Entries cover specific films, specific directors, genres, and themes.
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 4,400 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. major article indexes.
Excellent coverage of film both as phenomenon and as historical narrative.
America: History and Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to key English-language historical journals, the coverage includes selected journals from major countries, state, and local history journals, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, the database includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations.
Best index for late 19th and early 20th Century popular periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. Incorporates (through 1982) the printed Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899, and Readers' guide to periodical literature.
Music and Arts Librarian
Lewiston, ME 04240